hobart logo

Showing results for Movie Reviews

Death Note / mother! / final movie review photo
September 7, 2017 | movie reviews

Death Note / mother! / final movie review

Sean Kilpatrick

Domo

War on Everyone photo
August 16, 2017 | movie reviews

War on Everyone

Sean Kilpatrick

"Don't tuck your art in." Jamie Foxx

Lady Macbeth / Little Hours / Ingrid Goes West photo
August 15, 2017 | movie reviews

Lady Macbeth / Little Hours / Ingrid Goes West

Sean Kilpatrick

H-E-double hockey sticks

Spiderman: Homecoming / Valerian: City of a Thousand Planets / Wonder Woman photo
July 25, 2017 | movie reviews

Spiderman: Homecoming / Valerian: City of a Thousand Planets / Wonder Woman

Sean Kilpatrick

Enemas blastin!

Baby Driver / The Bad Batch / The Beguiled photo
July 14, 2017 | movie reviews

Baby Driver / The Bad Batch / The Beguiled

Sean Kilpatrick

Tampopo!

Mystery Science Theater 3000 photo
June 15, 2017 | movie reviews

Mystery Science Theater 3000

Sean Kilpatrick

Nemo me impune lacessit - pueri et infirmi, qui scripsit in pupa.

Buster's Mal Heart photo
June 14, 2017 | movie reviews

Buster's Mal Heart

Sean Kilpatrick

Malek's our man for Malek on Malek

Raw photo
May 18, 2017 | movie reviews

Raw

Sean Kilpatrick

USE THE SCREAMBOX

Colossal photo
May 17, 2017 | movie reviews

Colossal

Sean Kilpatrick

Spoilers

T2: Trainspotting 2 photo
April 15, 2017 | movie reviews

T2: Trainspotting 2

Sean Kilpatrick

Single tear

Ghost in the Shell photo
April 15, 2017 | movie reviews

Ghost in the Shell

Sean Kilpatrick

PS - Takeshi Kitano is god

Get Out / John Wick 2 photo
March 15, 2017 | movie reviews

Get Out / John Wick 2

Sean Kilpatrick

Honoring AV Club's restraining order against me from this day forward

A Cure for Wellness photo
March 13, 2017 | movie reviews

A Cure for Wellness

Sean Kilpatrick

“I look forward to the time when I shall refuse to learn another thing, having accumulated errors enough.” Charles Fort

La La Land photo
February 7, 2017 | movie reviews

La La Land

Sean Kilpatrick

Suicide is all theory until you fall in love with a piece of shit.

The Greasy Strangler photo
January 16, 2017 | movie reviews

The Greasy Strangler

Sean Kilpatrick

Ribbit

In a Valley of Violence photo
January 12, 2017 | movie reviews

In a Valley of Violence

Sean Kilpatrick

Going big on tsk tsk.

The Deleted photo
December 17, 2016 | movie reviews

The Deleted

Sean Kilpatrick

Dialogue is not necessary

The Eyes of My Mother photo
December 16, 2016 | movie reviews

The Eyes of My Mother

Sean Kilpatrick

Rapturous VHS solitude

Dog Eat Dog / Black Mirror photo
November 23, 2016 | movie reviews

Dog Eat Dog / Black Mirror

Sean Kilpatrick

Writers are running out of good guy badges. Virtue signaling shame ponies and other cultural nyet.

Trash Fire photo
November 16, 2016 | movie reviews

Trash Fire

Sean Kilpatrick

It's the kind of world that makes you vomit well into sobriety.

Demon photo
October 19, 2016 | movie reviews

Demon

Sean Kilpatrick

Poland = Michigan

Author: The JT Leroy Story photo
October 17, 2016 | movie reviews

Author: The JT Leroy Story

Sean Kilpatrick

piss you one cleaner than your trackshoes, say i / sex toys on lease to i / houses for my centipede, ow / coke that asshole into skinny fleece / clean up with her spate, guy / suck stray dogs in the cock wound, i / lick what your god's got, why / imma mafuckun star boi

Suicide Squad photo
September 14, 2016 | movie reviews

Suicide Squad

Sean Kilpatrick

This D minus of a man

Don't Breathe photo
September 12, 2016 | movie reviews

Don't Breathe

Sean Kilpatrick

Is it ok to bite the hand that feeds you if the food is mostly rubber?

THE ADDERALL DIARIES photo
August 18, 2016 | movie reviews

THE ADDERALL DIARIES

Sean Kilpatrick

Acting isn’t enough anymore. They should have to hurt themselves.

Recent Books

Preview_cropped_saul-stories-coverthumb

Saul Stories

Elizabeth Ellen

a set of linked stories with some of the same characters from Person/a and a lot of new ones and the world is the same but different from the world in Person/a and the stories take place in a year absent from Person/a. if that makes sense. contains the Pushcart Prize winning story "Teen Culture" from American Short Fiction, if that's something that moves you to buy books. <3

Preview_cropped_lgla-coverthumb-b

Legs Get Led Astray

Chloe Caldwell

FOUR NEW ESSAYS BY CHLOE CALDWELL! Plus the original essays that made you fall in love with Chloe!

Preview_cropped_persona-coverthumb-b

Person/a

Elizabeth Ellen

"Ellen’s gigantic, circular novel leaves everything on the page. It’s one of the most thoughtful and creative books I’ve read in a long time."
—Chicago Review of Books, "The Best Books of 2017 (So Far)"

"PERSON/A is a fresh take on familiar feelings of loss and obsession. The novel feels like half autobiography, half fiction, and both halves will leave readers stunned."
—The Los Angeles Review