hobart logo

Showing results for Movie Reviews

Suicide Squad photo
September 14, 2016 | movie reviews

Suicide Squad

Sean Kilpatrick

This D minus of a man

Don't Breathe photo
September 12, 2016 | movie reviews

Don't Breathe

Sean Kilpatrick

Is it ok to bite the hand that feeds you if the food is mostly rubber?

THE ADDERALL DIARIES photo
August 18, 2016 | movie reviews

THE ADDERALL DIARIES

Sean Kilpatrick

Acting isn’t enough anymore. They should have to hurt themselves.

GHOSTBUSTERS 2016 photo
August 17, 2016 | movie reviews

GHOSTBUSTERS 2016

Sean Kilpatrick

Please don't leave me to my joysticks!

The Neon Demon photo
July 21, 2016 | movie reviews

The Neon Demon

Sean Kilpatrick

People are just the mares under their craft.

Weiner-Dog / Dinner in America photo
July 18, 2016 | movie reviews

Weiner-Dog / Dinner in America

Sean Kilpatrick

The Great God Pan

LO AND BEHOLD, REVERIES OF THE CONNECTED WORLD photo
June 20, 2016 | movie reviews

LO AND BEHOLD, REVERIES OF THE CONNECTED WORLD

Sean Kilpatrick

Not every cry is a cry for help.

THE LOBSTER photo
June 17, 2016 | movie reviews

THE LOBSTER

Sean Kilpatrick

A sponsorship for every spree.

Horace and Pete photo
May 17, 2016 | movie reviews

Horace and Pete

Sean Kilpatrick

You have been saved in vain.

GREEN ROOM / HIGH-RISE photo
May 16, 2016 | movie reviews

GREEN ROOM / HIGH-RISE

Sean Kilpatrick

Sigh, my beloved. May I be her Pepe Le Pew?

BATMAN V SUPERMAN: DAWN OF JUSTICE photo
April 16, 2016 | movie reviews

BATMAN V SUPERMAN: DAWN OF JUSTICE

Sean Kilpatrick

Not Guilty by Reason of Insanity, the Sequel, or Part Zilch of Ten Billion, My Entire Oeuvre is this Film, a Mental Disturbance of a Review, 666 Words in Length

Hardcore Henry / Punisher in Daredevil / Batman V Superman Again photo
April 16, 2016 | movie reviews

Hardcore Henry / Punisher in Daredevil / Batman V Superman Again

Sean Kilpatrick

Must we insist on doling out movies by the stratagem?

The VVitch / Triple 9 photo
March 18, 2016 | movie reviews

The VVitch / Triple 9

Sean Kilpatrick

Black Phillip says monogamy means convincing somebody they like being controlled.

Dirty Grandpa photo
March 17, 2016 | movie reviews

Dirty Grandpa

Sean Kilpatrick

Stay in a hell I can't reach you from.

ANOMALISA photo
February 17, 2016 | movie reviews

ANOMALISA

Sean Kilpatrick

My bathroom break is getting ahead of me.

LOVE photo
February 15, 2016 | movie reviews

LOVE

Sean Kilpatrick

The dirt on our hands now, how airbrushed in.

THE REVENANT photo
January 21, 2016 | movie reviews

THE REVENANT

Sean Kilpatrick

Please, let it fuck me if I have it. Right? Fucking USA, again. If one person is making a bona fide constructive statement, the other nine are making you their bitch.

THE HATEFUL EIGHT photo
January 19, 2016 | movie reviews

THE HATEFUL EIGHT

Sean Kilpatrick

I like getting fucked in my feelings.

INSIDE OUT photo
December 23, 2015 | movie reviews

INSIDE OUT

Sean Kilpatrick

Where is the sequel with everyone’s joy icon shown twenty years down the road, morphed into a cenobite, gnawing the bedpost it tied itself to, libidinously squelched?

HARD TO BE A GOD photo
December 21, 2015 | movie reviews

HARD TO BE A GOD

Sean Kilpatrick

Say we're sorry!

A Review of By the Sea, or, How to Be An Artist and Female, I.e. How to be Unlikable, or, How to (Not) Pander  photo
December 17, 2015 | movie reviews

A Review of By the Sea, or, How to Be An Artist and Female, I.e. How to be Unlikable, or, How to (Not) Pander 

Elizabeth Ellen

And now I am left wondering how The End of the Story might have been different, what more we might have found out, had ‘Vincent’ not been a presence in that flowered armchair, had Lydia not been conscious of him invoking rules: there shouldn’t be any intimate scenes.

SICARIO photo
December 4, 2015 | movie reviews

SICARIO

Sean Kilpatrick

Now our privates got a timeline.

Manson Family Vacation photo
December 1, 2015 | movie reviews

Manson Family Vacation

Sean Kilpatrick

Let’s touch hands across the rubble.

The Green Inferno & Knock Knock / Wolf’s Hole at Spectacle Theater photo
November 3, 2015 | movie reviews

The Green Inferno & Knock Knock / Wolf’s Hole at Spectacle Theater

Sean Kilpatrick

I’m a stockpiling cakemix of a man trapped in the well Tarantino dug for me around age eleven. 

Mistress America photo
October 15, 2015 | movie reviews

Mistress America

Sean Kilpatrick

...darling Jennifer Jason Leigh. An actress who knows pain and ain’t fucking around. I miss her for his art. Margot at the Wedding is devastating. It is pursed-lips mean. You can’t measure its parsimony on heart. 

Recent Books

Preview_cropped_flashes_front_cover

Flashes of Life

Micah Ling

Featuring poems that engage songs by artists ranging from The White Stripes to Bruce Sprinsteen, David Bowie to Otis Redding; lists of albums; daily timestamps as poems; remixes and everything in between; Flashes of Light evokes not just the way we listen to music, but all the ways we interact with the music in our life.

 

Preview_cropped_rockwell_cover_sep8_alt

Over For Rockwell

Uzodinma Okehi

They say it takes an average person about 10 years to master a given thing. This was my thinking in 1995 when I dropped out of college in Iowa City to draw comics.

 

Preview_cropped_baseball_handbook_-_aaron_burch___jensen_beach

Baseball Handbook

various

We’ve had the idea and wanted to do some kind of “best of our online baseball issues” for years, and here is one iteration of that book. We’ve been doing it for so long (this year is our 13th!), we have too many favorites, so we made some arbitrary rules...