hobart logo

Showing results for Movie Reviews

Raw photo
May 18, 2017 | movie reviews

Raw

Sean Kilpatrick

USE THE SCREAMBOX

Colossal photo
May 17, 2017 | movie reviews

Colossal

Sean Kilpatrick

Spoilers

T2: Trainspotting 2 photo
April 15, 2017 | movie reviews

T2: Trainspotting 2

Sean Kilpatrick

Single tear

Ghost in the Shell photo
April 15, 2017 | movie reviews

Ghost in the Shell

Sean Kilpatrick

PS - Takeshi Kitano is god

Get Out / John Wick 2 photo
March 15, 2017 | movie reviews

Get Out / John Wick 2

Sean Kilpatrick

Honoring AV Club's restraining order against me from this day forward

A Cure for Wellness photo
March 13, 2017 | movie reviews

A Cure for Wellness

Sean Kilpatrick

“I look forward to the time when I shall refuse to learn another thing, having accumulated errors enough.” Charles Fort

La La Land photo
February 7, 2017 | movie reviews

La La Land

Sean Kilpatrick

Suicide is all theory until you fall in love with a piece of shit.

The Greasy Strangler photo
January 16, 2017 | movie reviews

The Greasy Strangler

Sean Kilpatrick

Ribbit

In a Valley of Violence photo
January 12, 2017 | movie reviews

In a Valley of Violence

Sean Kilpatrick

Going big on tsk tsk.

The Deleted photo
December 17, 2016 | movie reviews

The Deleted

Sean Kilpatrick

Dialogue is not necessary

The Eyes of My Mother photo
December 16, 2016 | movie reviews

The Eyes of My Mother

Sean Kilpatrick

Rapturous VHS solitude

Dog Eat Dog / Black Mirror photo
November 23, 2016 | movie reviews

Dog Eat Dog / Black Mirror

Sean Kilpatrick

Writers are running out of good guy badges. Virtue signaling shame ponies and other cultural nyet.

Trash Fire photo
November 16, 2016 | movie reviews

Trash Fire

Sean Kilpatrick

It's the kind of world that makes you vomit well into sobriety.

Demon photo
October 19, 2016 | movie reviews

Demon

Sean Kilpatrick

Poland = Michigan

Author: The JT Leroy Story photo
October 17, 2016 | movie reviews

Author: The JT Leroy Story

Sean Kilpatrick

piss you one cleaner than your trackshoes, say i / sex toys on lease to i / houses for my centipede, ow / coke that asshole into skinny fleece / clean up with her spate, guy / suck stray dogs in the cock wound, i / lick what your god's got, why / imma mafuckun star boi

Suicide Squad photo
September 14, 2016 | movie reviews

Suicide Squad

Sean Kilpatrick

This D minus of a man

Don't Breathe photo
September 12, 2016 | movie reviews

Don't Breathe

Sean Kilpatrick

Is it ok to bite the hand that feeds you if the food is mostly rubber?

THE ADDERALL DIARIES photo
August 18, 2016 | movie reviews

THE ADDERALL DIARIES

Sean Kilpatrick

Acting isn’t enough anymore. They should have to hurt themselves.

GHOSTBUSTERS 2016 photo
August 17, 2016 | movie reviews

GHOSTBUSTERS 2016

Sean Kilpatrick

Please don't leave me to my joysticks!

The Neon Demon photo
July 21, 2016 | movie reviews

The Neon Demon

Sean Kilpatrick

People are just the mares under their craft.

Weiner-Dog / Dinner in America photo
July 18, 2016 | movie reviews

Weiner-Dog / Dinner in America

Sean Kilpatrick

The Great God Pan

LO AND BEHOLD, REVERIES OF THE CONNECTED WORLD photo
June 20, 2016 | movie reviews

LO AND BEHOLD, REVERIES OF THE CONNECTED WORLD

Sean Kilpatrick

Not every cry is a cry for help.

THE LOBSTER photo
June 17, 2016 | movie reviews

THE LOBSTER

Sean Kilpatrick

A sponsorship for every spree.

Horace and Pete photo
May 17, 2016 | movie reviews

Horace and Pete

Sean Kilpatrick

You have been saved in vain.

GREEN ROOM / HIGH-RISE photo
May 16, 2016 | movie reviews

GREEN ROOM / HIGH-RISE

Sean Kilpatrick

Sigh, my beloved. May I be her Pepe Le Pew?

Recent Books

Preview_cropped_persona-coverthumb-b

Person/a

Elizabeth Ellen

A novel about the complexities of being a woman, an artist, a mother, and a wife; a novel about persona and obsession and loyalty and repression; an exorcism.

Available Now!

 

Preview_cropped_after-women-coverthumb

After Women

Chloe Caldwell

A fictional follow-up to the novella Women (SF/LD, 2014) exploring the ethos of the literary world, queerness, and infatuation. 

Preview_cropped_saul-stories-coverthumb

Saul Stories

Elizabeth Ellen

A linked story collection detailing the relationship between the 40-year-old narrator, her eighth-grade daughter, Eli, and her daughter’s best friend, Saul. Includes the Pushcart Prize winning story "Teen Culture."