hobart logo

Showing results for Movie Reviews

Terminator Genisys / Jurassic World photo
July 28, 2015 | movie reviews

Terminator Genisys / Jurassic World

Sean Kilpatrick

Hopefully, I’ve ingested enough synthetic flavor to stop my heart real early. Or to maintain tinnitus for the length of a harassing phone call. If not, the only responsibility of the adult is to be their own Kevorkian.

Montage of Heck / The Wolfpack / Amy  photo
July 22, 2015 | movie reviews

Montage of Heck / The Wolfpack / Amy 

Sean Kilpatrick

Then the world boned its youth one worse. Even if you weren’t participating, they made not giving a fuck popular. 

The Tribe photo
June 18, 2015 | movie reviews

The Tribe

Sean Kilpatrick

Cinetopia is a Detroit film festival for fresh retirees on a cinematic tour bus who belch knowingly whenever they mistake their hunched way into an obscene masterpiece. 

Ex Machina / Captain Phillips photo
June 16, 2015 | movie reviews

Ex Machina / Captain Phillips

Sean Kilpatrick

Some animals devour their young to cease lactation so they can fuck more often. People tripped over the invention of a conscience for no other happenstance than to keep our numbers plump.

The Reconstruction of William Zero / Lost River / Buzzard photo
June 5, 2015 | movie reviews

The Reconstruction of William Zero / Lost River / Buzzard

Sean Kilpatrick

Gosling has an understanding beyond the Franco. There’s a certain silence to his pose. I dig his tone, even if he’s sexy.

Mad Max Fury Road / Tender Napalm / Zeitgeist Theatre photo
May 22, 2015 | movie reviews

Mad Max Fury Road / Tender Napalm / Zeitgeist Theatre

Sean Kilpatrick

Not belonging feels more and more like banging a rough cookie on the counter these days. I would take pride in my crumbs, if I knew how. It’s good to be alive like a delinquent spaz.

It Follows photo
April 11, 2015 | movie reviews

It Follows

Sean Kilpatrick

PS – This film deserves its every cult and to be ranked even beyond into the commonly over-valued status of a classic

Top Five photo
March 25, 2015 | movie reviews

Top Five

Sean Kilpatrick

Seinfeld near tits is an innovative sight. A billionaire can only be cropped next to libidinous events with CGI. It appears comedians struggle to retrieve their teeth back from fame. 

Starred Up photo
March 20, 2015 | movie reviews

Starred Up

Sean Kilpatrick

I think Hemingway killed the subordinate clause because it looked at him slantward from the shelled nobility of an era that deserved Victorianism.

American Sniper photo
February 11, 2015 | movie reviews

American Sniper

Sean Kilpatrick

I’m troubled to notice odd similarities between my nihilism and the right wing. 

The Imitation Game / Foxcatcher photo
January 31, 2015 | movie reviews

The Imitation Game / Foxcatcher

Sean Kilpatrick

Between The Social Network and The Imitation Game, we can decipher precisely how our genitals should disrobe us. I,... more

Inherent Vice photo
January 27, 2015 | movie reviews

Inherent Vice

Sean Kilpatrick

I only look you in the eyes if I’m sure the condom’s on.

I Love You, Apple, I Love You, Orange photo
January 9, 2015 | movie reviews

I Love You, Apple, I Love You, Orange

Sean Kilpatrick

This is the first magic realist mumblecore psychological love story thriller shot over eight years of Claymation. 

Polyester in Odorama / The Room with Tommy Wiseau in person photo
December 31, 2014 | movie reviews

Polyester in Odorama / The Room with Tommy Wiseau in person

Sean Kilpatrick

and it is always okay to be cruel in the arts, whether people like him are in on it or not, because who cares, internet (hey internet, how do I take a selfie of my fucking concern for others?)

The Interview photo
December 25, 2014 | movie reviews

The Interview

Sean Kilpatrick

 Shucks, you know the only racism worth a damn comes from poverty. I like Franco when he’s silly.

Ninja Turtles / Interstellar / Guardians of the Galaxy / Birdman photo
December 23, 2014 | movie reviews

Ninja Turtles / Interstellar / Guardians of the Galaxy / Birdman

Sean Kilpatrick

PS. I was part of an email the studio campaign in the early 2000s to openly mock the idea of a Dawn of the Dead remake, before remakes were a condition.

whiplash photo
November 27, 2014 | movie reviews

whiplash

Sean Kilpatrick

Is Chekov why I’m so sad? I’ll give you twenty bucks for a plot in literature that acknowledges his talent, but ignores him slightly more.

Gone Girl photo
November 7, 2014 | movie reviews

Gone Girl

Sean Kilpatrick

A relationship’s complacency can only end atop the stripped sinew of an erect Doogie Howser. We’re not gonna hide at being perfect.

Tusk photo
October 14, 2014 | movie reviews

Tusk

Sean Kilpatrick

Sometimes you have to say fuck it and cry masterpiece.

Life before Boyhood photo
October 10, 2014 | movie reviews

Life before Boyhood

Victor Freeze

I’m 23-years-old going through a mid-life crisis. Well, not quite mid-life considering I’m convinced I have less than seven years left to live. 

Tom Sizemore and the Heat Death of the Universe photo
October 9, 2014 | movie reviews

Tom Sizemore and the Heat Death of the Universe

Sean Kilpatrick

People want their maniacs explained. But there is no autopsy deft enough to expose how sensually disfigured a mind can get.

Sin City: A Dame to Kill For photo
September 16, 2014 | movie reviews

Sin City: A Dame to Kill For

Sean Kilpatrick

Please go read the reviews for this movie on The Onion, the pissant caboodle that now passes for Roger Ebert.com, and Ain’t It Cool News, yeah, them too, for some reason.

Cold in July / The Rover photo
August 28, 2014 | movie reviews

Cold in July / The Rover

Sean Kilpatrick

How they say something doesn’t wink at an audience, this caws its eyelids off. What we got? Mad MenTrue Detective? Those shows are about acting. (Sometimes about writing in service of plot. Oh, True Detective, almost, so close until the final explanation cribs us all.)

50 Shades of Grey (book and upcoming film and action figures) photo
July 29, 2014 | movie reviews

50 Shades of Grey (book and upcoming film and action figures)

Sean Kilpatrick

I never knew a woman who wasn’t capable of killing me with a sentence. Until now?

The Sacrament photo
July 1, 2014 | movie reviews

The Sacrament

Sean Kilpatrick

My fault for side-stepping the usual male pretense at sensitivity or smug confidence of manipulation. I’ve saved it all for this fucking Lish frottage of a sentence.

Current Print Issue

Preview_cropped_ho15-draft-a_copy_front

Hobart 15: HOTEL CULTURE

cover by David Kramer

w/ 27 hotel-related stories, poems, essays, and a comic!

& featuring a bonus chapbook w/ stories by SF/LD authors Elizabeth Ellen, Mary Miller& Dylan Niceand comics by Chelsea Martin

 

Latest SF/LD Book

Preview_cropped_selected-tweets-web-cover

Selected Tweets

Tao Lin & Mira Gonzalez


"I think I’ve read the most Twitter while laying in bed or on my back, or just laying in places, like in parks or in airports."
Tao Lin

"I feel comfortable tweeting things that I would never feel comfortable saying in a real life conversation, or even in other places on the internet."
Mira Gonzalez