hobart logo

Showing results for Movie Reviews

The Imitation Game / Foxcatcher photo
January 31, 2015 | movie reviews

The Imitation Game / Foxcatcher

Sean Kilpatrick

Between The Social Network and The Imitation Game, we can decipher precisely how our genitals should disrobe us. I,... more

Inherent Vice photo
January 27, 2015 | movie reviews

Inherent Vice

Sean Kilpatrick

I only look you in the eyes if I’m sure the condom’s on.

I Love You, Apple, I Love You, Orange photo
January 9, 2015 | movie reviews

I Love You, Apple, I Love You, Orange

Sean Kilpatrick

This is the first magic realist mumblecore psychological love story thriller shot over eight years of Claymation. 

Polyester in Odorama / The Room with Tommy Wiseau in person photo
December 31, 2014 | movie reviews

Polyester in Odorama / The Room with Tommy Wiseau in person

Sean Kilpatrick

and it is always okay to be cruel in the arts, whether people like him are in on it or not, because who cares, internet (hey internet, how do I take a selfie of my fucking concern for others?)

The Interview photo
December 25, 2014 | movie reviews

The Interview

Sean Kilpatrick

 Shucks, you know the only racism worth a damn comes from poverty. I like Franco when he’s silly.

Ninja Turtles / Interstellar / Guardians of the Galaxy / Birdman photo
December 23, 2014 | movie reviews

Ninja Turtles / Interstellar / Guardians of the Galaxy / Birdman

Sean Kilpatrick

PS. I was part of an email the studio campaign in the early 2000s to openly mock the idea of a Dawn of the Dead remake, before remakes were a condition.

whiplash photo
November 27, 2014 | movie reviews

whiplash

Sean Kilpatrick

Is Chekov why I’m so sad? I’ll give you twenty bucks for a plot in literature that acknowledges his talent, but ignores him slightly more.

Gone Girl photo
November 7, 2014 | movie reviews

Gone Girl

Sean Kilpatrick

A relationship’s complacency can only end atop the stripped sinew of an erect Doogie Howser. We’re not gonna hide at being perfect.

Tusk photo
October 14, 2014 | movie reviews

Tusk

Sean Kilpatrick

Sometimes you have to say fuck it and cry masterpiece.

Life before Boyhood photo
October 10, 2014 | movie reviews

Life before Boyhood

Victor Freeze

I’m 23-years-old going through a mid-life crisis. Well, not quite mid-life considering I’m convinced I have less than seven years left to live. 

Tom Sizemore and the Heat Death of the Universe photo
October 9, 2014 | movie reviews

Tom Sizemore and the Heat Death of the Universe

Sean Kilpatrick

People want their maniacs explained. But there is no autopsy deft enough to expose how sensually disfigured a mind can get.

Sin City: A Dame to Kill For photo
September 16, 2014 | movie reviews

Sin City: A Dame to Kill For

Sean Kilpatrick

Please go read the reviews for this movie on The Onion, the pissant caboodle that now passes for Roger Ebert.com, and Ain’t It Cool News, yeah, them too, for some reason.

Cold in July / The Rover photo
August 28, 2014 | movie reviews

Cold in July / The Rover

Sean Kilpatrick

How they say something doesn’t wink at an audience, this caws its eyelids off. What we got? Mad MenTrue Detective? Those shows are about acting. (Sometimes about writing in service of plot. Oh, True Detective, almost, so close until the final explanation cribs us all.)

50 Shades of Grey (book and upcoming film and action figures) photo
July 29, 2014 | movie reviews

50 Shades of Grey (book and upcoming film and action figures)

Sean Kilpatrick

I never knew a woman who wasn’t capable of killing me with a sentence. Until now?

The Sacrament photo
July 1, 2014 | movie reviews

The Sacrament

Sean Kilpatrick

My fault for side-stepping the usual male pretense at sensitivity or smug confidence of manipulation. I’ve saved it all for this fucking Lish frottage of a sentence.

Palo Alto photo
June 9, 2014 | movie reviews

Palo Alto

Sean Kilpatrick

You know shit’s over when they flunk a nihilist out of the suckass pedagogy for bringing too much optimism.

Blue Ruin photo
May 30, 2014 | movie reviews

Blue Ruin

Sean Kilpatrick

 inhabited a square-foot ghetto in Austin, cute by standards of being raised south of 8 mile, upside Detroit’s unfair putty

Only Lovers Left Alive photo
May 20, 2014 | movie reviews

Only Lovers Left Alive

Sean Kilpatrick

I won’t front about Jarmusch. He’s cooler than my ability to describe shit. He’s our genuinely cool... more

Under the Skin photo
May 8, 2014 | movie reviews

Under the Skin

Sean Kilpatrick

I enjoy when a formal beauty proves they have art. Gosling did. Even Shia. Franco tries. We all mean well. There’s lots of ways to feel pain besides being ugly

Enemy photo
April 30, 2014 | movie reviews

Enemy

Sean Kilpatrick

Enemy is the only title a film about relationships should have.

Noah photo
April 19, 2014 | movie reviews

Noah

Sean Kilpatrick

Noah is a film better than the book

Nymph()maniac Vol. 1 and 2 photo
April 9, 2014 | movie reviews

Nymph()maniac Vol. 1 and 2

Sean Kilpatrick

Why is Von Trier my man? He’s my man whose bruises I refuse to conceal. I have no debate or defense, he’s atop me. I must strangle myself in his defense. 

The Grand Budapest Hotel photo
April 7, 2014 | movie reviews

The Grand Budapest Hotel

Sean Kilpatrick

The twee hustle a brand of nostalgia excluding most. The characters involved are living out the party you missed through... more

The Lego Movie photo
March 11, 2014 | movie reviews

The Lego Movie

Sean Kilpatrick

And if a man in a dress shirt and sneakers mashing his foreskin upwind during urination upon yonder innocent lass, tweeting, “Soon I will be an integral part of your biography,” isn’t for you, here’s to you. 

Internal Affairs / Deep Cover photo
February 14, 2014 | movie reviews

Internal Affairs / Deep Cover

Sean Kilpatrick

Bean cures hetero monogamy of squareness

Current Print Issue

Preview_cropped_ho15-draft-a_copy_front

Hobart 15: HOTEL CULTURE

cover by David Kramer

w/ 27 hotel-related stories, poems, essays, and a comic!

& featuring a bonus chapbook w/ stories by SF/LD authors Elizabeth Ellen, Mary Miller& Dylan Niceand comics by Chelsea Martin

 

Latest SF/LD Book

Preview_cropped_women-web-front-cover

WOMEN

Chloe Caldwell

"You want this."
– Ashley Ford, Buzzfeed Books

“I’ll read anything Chloe Caldwell writes...  WOMEN is an urgent reminder that narrative is how we make sense of obsession.”
– Elisa Albert, author of The Book of Dahlia and the forthcoming novel After Birth