hobart logo

Showing results for Movie Reviews

Baby Driver / The Bad Batch / The Beguiled photo
July 14, 2017 | movie reviews

Baby Driver / The Bad Batch / The Beguiled

Sean Kilpatrick

Tampopo!

Mystery Science Theater 3000 photo
June 15, 2017 | movie reviews

Mystery Science Theater 3000

Sean Kilpatrick

Nemo me impune lacessit - pueri et infirmi, qui scripsit in pupa.

Buster's Mal Heart photo
June 14, 2017 | movie reviews

Buster's Mal Heart

Sean Kilpatrick

Malek's our man for Malek on Malek

Raw photo
May 18, 2017 | movie reviews

Raw

Sean Kilpatrick

USE THE SCREAMBOX

Colossal photo
May 17, 2017 | movie reviews

Colossal

Sean Kilpatrick

Spoilers

T2: Trainspotting 2 photo
April 15, 2017 | movie reviews

T2: Trainspotting 2

Sean Kilpatrick

Single tear

Ghost in the Shell photo
April 15, 2017 | movie reviews

Ghost in the Shell

Sean Kilpatrick

PS - Takeshi Kitano is god

Get Out / John Wick 2 photo
March 15, 2017 | movie reviews

Get Out / John Wick 2

Sean Kilpatrick

Honoring AV Club's restraining order against me from this day forward

A Cure for Wellness photo
March 13, 2017 | movie reviews

A Cure for Wellness

Sean Kilpatrick

“I look forward to the time when I shall refuse to learn another thing, having accumulated errors enough.” Charles Fort

La La Land photo
February 7, 2017 | movie reviews

La La Land

Sean Kilpatrick

Suicide is all theory until you fall in love with a piece of shit.

The Greasy Strangler photo
January 16, 2017 | movie reviews

The Greasy Strangler

Sean Kilpatrick

Ribbit

In a Valley of Violence photo
January 12, 2017 | movie reviews

In a Valley of Violence

Sean Kilpatrick

Going big on tsk tsk.

The Deleted photo
December 17, 2016 | movie reviews

The Deleted

Sean Kilpatrick

Dialogue is not necessary

The Eyes of My Mother photo
December 16, 2016 | movie reviews

The Eyes of My Mother

Sean Kilpatrick

Rapturous VHS solitude

Dog Eat Dog / Black Mirror photo
November 23, 2016 | movie reviews

Dog Eat Dog / Black Mirror

Sean Kilpatrick

Writers are running out of good guy badges. Virtue signaling shame ponies and other cultural nyet.

Trash Fire photo
November 16, 2016 | movie reviews

Trash Fire

Sean Kilpatrick

It's the kind of world that makes you vomit well into sobriety.

Demon photo
October 19, 2016 | movie reviews

Demon

Sean Kilpatrick

Poland = Michigan

Author: The JT Leroy Story photo
October 17, 2016 | movie reviews

Author: The JT Leroy Story

Sean Kilpatrick

piss you one cleaner than your trackshoes, say i / sex toys on lease to i / houses for my centipede, ow / coke that asshole into skinny fleece / clean up with her spate, guy / suck stray dogs in the cock wound, i / lick what your god's got, why / imma mafuckun star boi

Suicide Squad photo
September 14, 2016 | movie reviews

Suicide Squad

Sean Kilpatrick

This D minus of a man

Don't Breathe photo
September 12, 2016 | movie reviews

Don't Breathe

Sean Kilpatrick

Is it ok to bite the hand that feeds you if the food is mostly rubber?

THE ADDERALL DIARIES photo
August 18, 2016 | movie reviews

THE ADDERALL DIARIES

Sean Kilpatrick

Acting isn’t enough anymore. They should have to hurt themselves.

GHOSTBUSTERS 2016 photo
August 17, 2016 | movie reviews

GHOSTBUSTERS 2016

Sean Kilpatrick

Please don't leave me to my joysticks!

The Neon Demon photo
July 21, 2016 | movie reviews

The Neon Demon

Sean Kilpatrick

People are just the mares under their craft.

Weiner-Dog / Dinner in America photo
July 18, 2016 | movie reviews

Weiner-Dog / Dinner in America

Sean Kilpatrick

The Great God Pan

LO AND BEHOLD, REVERIES OF THE CONNECTED WORLD photo
June 20, 2016 | movie reviews

LO AND BEHOLD, REVERIES OF THE CONNECTED WORLD

Sean Kilpatrick

Not every cry is a cry for help.

Recent Books

Preview_cropped_lgla-coverthumb-b

Legs Get Led Astray

Chloe Caldwell

The original 2012 essay collection, redesigned and with three new essays by the author.

 

Available Now!

Preview_cropped_persona-coverthumb-b

Person/a

Elizabeth Ellen

"Ellen’s gigantic, circular novel leaves everything on the page. It’s one of the most thoughtful and creative books I’ve read in a long time."
—Chicago Review of Books, "The Best Books of 2017 (So Far)"

"PERSON/A is a fresh take on familiar feelings of loss and obsession. The novel feels like half autobiography, half fiction, and both halves will leave readers stunned."
—The Los Angeles Review

"I’m more stunned than able to decide or articulate what I really feel about Person/a, and that’s marvelous."
—The Lit Pub

Preview_cropped_women-cover-thumb

WOMEN

Chloe Caldwell

"You want this."
– Ashley Ford, Buzzfeed Books

“I’ll read anything Chloe Caldwell writes...  WOMEN is an urgent reminder that narrative is how we make sense of obsession.”
– Elisa Albert, author of After Birth