hobart logo

Showing results for Movie Reviews

GHOSTBUSTERS 2016 photo
August 17, 2016 | movie reviews

GHOSTBUSTERS 2016

Sean Kilpatrick

Please don't leave me to my joysticks!

The Neon Demon photo
July 21, 2016 | movie reviews

The Neon Demon

Sean Kilpatrick

People are just the mares under their craft.

Weiner-Dog / Dinner in America photo
July 18, 2016 | movie reviews

Weiner-Dog / Dinner in America

Sean Kilpatrick

The Great God Pan

LO AND BEHOLD, REVERIES OF THE CONNECTED WORLD photo
June 20, 2016 | movie reviews

LO AND BEHOLD, REVERIES OF THE CONNECTED WORLD

Sean Kilpatrick

Not every cry is a cry for help.

THE LOBSTER photo
June 17, 2016 | movie reviews

THE LOBSTER

Sean Kilpatrick

A sponsorship for every spree.

Horace and Pete photo
May 17, 2016 | movie reviews

Horace and Pete

Sean Kilpatrick

You have been saved in vain.

GREEN ROOM / HIGH-RISE photo
May 16, 2016 | movie reviews

GREEN ROOM / HIGH-RISE

Sean Kilpatrick

Sigh, my beloved. May I be her Pepe Le Pew?

BATMAN V SUPERMAN: DAWN OF JUSTICE photo
April 16, 2016 | movie reviews

BATMAN V SUPERMAN: DAWN OF JUSTICE

Sean Kilpatrick

Not Guilty by Reason of Insanity, the Sequel, or Part Zilch of Ten Billion, My Entire Oeuvre is this Film, a Mental Disturbance of a Review, 666 Words in Length

Hardcore Henry / Punisher in Daredevil / Batman V Superman Again photo
April 16, 2016 | movie reviews

Hardcore Henry / Punisher in Daredevil / Batman V Superman Again

Sean Kilpatrick

Must we insist on doling out movies by the stratagem?

The VVitch / Triple 9 photo
March 18, 2016 | movie reviews

The VVitch / Triple 9

Sean Kilpatrick

Black Phillip says monogamy means convincing somebody they like being controlled.

Dirty Grandpa photo
March 17, 2016 | movie reviews

Dirty Grandpa

Sean Kilpatrick

Stay in a hell I can't reach you from.

ANOMALISA photo
February 17, 2016 | movie reviews

ANOMALISA

Sean Kilpatrick

My bathroom break is getting ahead of me.

LOVE photo
February 15, 2016 | movie reviews

LOVE

Sean Kilpatrick

The dirt on our hands now, how airbrushed in.

THE REVENANT photo
January 21, 2016 | movie reviews

THE REVENANT

Sean Kilpatrick

Please, let it fuck me if I have it. Right? Fucking USA, again. If one person is making a bona fide constructive statement, the other nine are making you their bitch.

THE HATEFUL EIGHT photo
January 19, 2016 | movie reviews

THE HATEFUL EIGHT

Sean Kilpatrick

I like getting fucked in my feelings.

INSIDE OUT photo
December 23, 2015 | movie reviews

INSIDE OUT

Sean Kilpatrick

Where is the sequel with everyone’s joy icon shown twenty years down the road, morphed into a cenobite, gnawing the bedpost it tied itself to, libidinously squelched?

HARD TO BE A GOD photo
December 21, 2015 | movie reviews

HARD TO BE A GOD

Sean Kilpatrick

Say we're sorry!

A Review of By the Sea, or, How to Be An Artist and Female, I.e. How to be Unlikable, or, How to (Not) Pander  photo
December 17, 2015 | movie reviews

A Review of By the Sea, or, How to Be An Artist and Female, I.e. How to be Unlikable, or, How to (Not) Pander 

Elizabeth Ellen

And now I am left wondering how The End of the Story might have been different, what more we might have found out, had ‘Vincent’ not been a presence in that flowered armchair, had Lydia not been conscious of him invoking rules: there shouldn’t be any intimate scenes.

SICARIO photo
December 4, 2015 | movie reviews

SICARIO

Sean Kilpatrick

Now our privates got a timeline.

Manson Family Vacation photo
December 1, 2015 | movie reviews

Manson Family Vacation

Sean Kilpatrick

Let’s touch hands across the rubble.

The Green Inferno & Knock Knock / Wolf’s Hole at Spectacle Theater photo
November 3, 2015 | movie reviews

The Green Inferno & Knock Knock / Wolf’s Hole at Spectacle Theater

Sean Kilpatrick

I’m a stockpiling cakemix of a man trapped in the well Tarantino dug for me around age eleven. 

Mistress America photo
October 15, 2015 | movie reviews

Mistress America

Sean Kilpatrick

...darling Jennifer Jason Leigh. An actress who knows pain and ain’t fucking around. I miss her for his art. Margot at the Wedding is devastating. It is pursed-lips mean. You can’t measure its parsimony on heart. 

Chappie / Snowpiercer / Alien 5 photo
October 1, 2015 | movie reviews

Chappie / Snowpiercer / Alien 5

Sean Kilpatrick

If you’re of the age to have returned that difficult game (I’m too trapped nowhere between gen Xers and millennials to pipe up about this or anything, though I favor the X for its aesthetic absurdities pluming in the early-to-mid 90s culture that raised me), or are of the mindset to grouse at the receipt for any difficult entertainment, then your whole life is probably you snitching on yourself under the guise of being genuine, and you should continue to embrace your deciphered and dimensionally rounded community of bullshit Star Wars enthusiasm which predominately infects the arts (or get fucked in your ball cap). 

Tomorrowland photo
September 24, 2015 | movie reviews

Tomorrowland

Sean Kilpatrick

If someone insists you smile, it might as well be rape. This movie found a way to nitpick itself the way these types nitpick everyone around them about presenting the right attitude. Someone in this land will always be subjecting you to the editorial fructose of their imperial fertility. If Bird’s intent was to satirize our fretful American condition, I didn’t understand, because I left the fucking theater right when the film began – about an hour in.

Irrational Man photo
September 15, 2015 | movie reviews

Irrational Man

Sean Kilpatrick

Only someone whose amazing art can no longer hide them from the petty philanthropy hopefully juxtaposing the asinine incest of their crimes would issue such a dollar bill of a sentence. 

Recent Books

Preview_cropped_saul-stories-coverthumb

Saul Stories

Elizabeth Ellen

A linked story collection detailing the relationship between the 40-year-old narrator, her eighth-grade daughter, Eli, and her daughter’s best friend, Saul. Includes the Pushcart Prize winning story "Teen Culture."

Preview_cropped_lgla-coverthumb-b

Legs Get Led Astray

Chloe Caldwell

The original 2012 essay collection, redesigned and with three new essays by the author.

 

Available Now!

Preview_cropped_persona-coverthumb-b

Person/a

Elizabeth Ellen

"Ellen’s gigantic, circular novel leaves everything on the page. It’s one of the most thoughtful and creative books I’ve read in a long time."
—Chicago Review of Books, "The Best Books of 2017 (So Far)"

"PERSON/A is a fresh take on familiar feelings of loss and obsession. The novel feels like half autobiography, half fiction, and both halves will leave readers stunned."
—The Los Angeles Review

"I’m more stunned than able to decide or articulate what I really feel about Person/a, and that’s marvelous."
—The Lit Pub